Eczacıbaşı VitrA claims its second consecutive Spor Toto Champions Cup

Eczacıbaşı VitrA claims its second consecutive Spor Toto Champions Cup

Eczacıbaşı VitrA defeated VakıfBank 3-2 in the season opener Spor Toto Champions Cup to retain its Championship title. This is the team's fourth Super Toto Champions Cup, formerly known as Champions Cup, with previous wins being in the 2017-2018, 2011-2012,  and 2010-2011 seasons.
The game took place at the Izmir Atatürk – Vestel Venus Sports Complex to a full crowd, with 4600 fans saving their seats weeks earlier for the first showdown of the season.

Once again, with the support of great fans filling the gym with orange and white colors, Eczacıbaşı VitrA achieved an outstanding performance despite having spent very little time together as a full squad.

During the award ceremony, both teams raised a banner in support of 6 October World Cerebral Palsy Day.

Game Highlights

Eczacıbaşı VitrA played a powerful first set of blocking and defense work and a strong performance by Natalia Pereira in her first game with the team. Gamze Kılıç and team captain Yeon Koung Kim helped to maintain the Eczacıbaşı VitrA's lead in the second set giving it a 2-0 advantage.
In the third set, despite the contributions of young players Yasemin Güveli and Hande Baladın, VakıfBank took the lead in a thrilling series of volleys and maintained it in the fourth set, despite forceful attacks by Tijana Boskovic. 

In the final set, Eczacıbaşı VitrA retook the lead with strong serves  by Ergül Eroğlu and the contributions of Tijana Boskovic to win five sets and the Spor Toto Champions Cup title for the second consecutive year.

Turkish Volleyball Federation President Mehmet Akif Üstündağ and Spor Toto President Bünyamin Bozgeyik presented the Champions Cup trophy to Captain Yeon Koung Kim. Tijana Boskovic was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

Vakıfbank – Eczacıbaşı VitrA: 2-3
Venue: Atatürk Vestel Venus Sports Complex - Izmir
Referees: Yavuz Akdemir, Arzu Emiroğlu
VakıfBank: Rasic, Meliha, Ognjenovic, Ebrar, Zehra, Haak, Gizem (L), Cansu, Pınar, Gözde, Gabi.
Eczacıbaşı VitrA: Kim, Boskovic, Gamze, Yasemin, Natalia, Ergül, Simge (L), Hande, Carli, Melis.
 Sets: : 2-3 (14-25, 21-25, 27-25, 25-20, 11-15)
Duration: 140 minutes (23, 36, 36, 26, 19)